It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Weather and Climate Data: Historic Data @ NOAA Central Library
Please note that the weather maps on the NOAA Central Library's U.S. Daily Weather Maps page are encoded in the format DjVu. As web browsers do not natively read DjVu files, it is necessary to download a plug-in or viewer to view the maps. While the NOAA Central Library provides a link to the viewer, DjVuLibre, other plug-ins or viewers are available online.
The following resources are selected collections from NOAA Central Library's Digital Collections:
Climatological data with a time period coverage range from the 1830s through the 1970s, with most data from the period prior to 1960, Each series typically includes observations for a number of meteorological and other geophysical parameters. Collection spans over 80 separate pages according to country and/or region.
The Monthly Weather Review covers research related to analysis and prediction of observed and modeled circulations of the atmosphere, including technique development, data assimilation, model validation, and relevant case studies. The Supplements featured contributions to the science of meteorology and weather forecasting that were too voluminous to publish in the regular Monthly Weather Review.
Historical daily weather maps from 1871 through 2002.
The following collection is not located in the general stacks. If the materials below are of interest to you please contact email@example.com
Weather Bureau “Climatological Collection”
Most documents in this collection were published between 1820 and 1930 and are grouped in series that were published by national or colonial weather organizations and various observatories. Most of these documents are of European origin or European colonial origin except in the Americas and some Asian documents. English, German, French, Spanish, and Russian language documents are found throughout the collection reflecting national and colonial interests. Other languages are occasionally encountered. Although most documents contain climatic data, there are also documents describing national or regional geography, history of region, and some personal accounts.
As the library has cataloged physical materials related to historical weather or climate data, the library's catalog is worth searching. You can either search for titles or general terms (i.e. "climate data").
The NOAA Central Library is to support and further NOAA’s mission of promoting global environmental stewardship in order to conserve and wisely manage the Nation's marine and coastal resources; and describing, monitoring, and predicting changes in the Earth's environment in order to ensure and enhance sustainable economic opportunities.