It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Weather and Climate Data: Weather and Climate Data Publications Online
Monthly editions contain station daily maximum and minimum temperatures and precipitation. Some stations provide daily snowfall, snow depth, evaporation, and soil temperature data. Each issue also contains monthly summaries for heating and cooling degree days (65 degrees Fbase).
Data includes a national general summary of weather conditions, observed extremes of temp & precip by states, climatological data by station, heating degree/cooling degree days, flood data and losses, and storm summaries. Upper air data, sunshine and solar radiation data are also summarized.
COOP Data / Record of Climatological Observations Form is a monthly log that includes a daily account of temperature extremes (participating locations) & precipitation, along with snow data at some locations.
Hourly Precipitation Data (HPD) publication contains hourly precipitation amounts obtained from recording rain gages located at National Weather Service, Federal Aviation Administration, and cooperative observer stations. Published data are displayed in inches to tenths or inches to hundredths at local standard time. HPD includes maximum precipitation for nine (9) time periods from 15 minutes to 24 hours, for selected stations.
Local Climatological Data (LCD) contains summaries from major airport weather stations that include a daily account of temperature extremes, degree days, precipitation amounts and winds. Also included are the hourly precipitation amounts and abbreviated 3-hourly weather observations.
Monthly Climatic Data for the World (MCDW) contains monthly mean temperature, pressure, precipitation, vapor pressure, and hours of sunshine for approximately 2,000 surface data collection stations worldwide and monthly mean upper air temperatures, dew point depressions, and wind velocities for approximately 500 observing sites.
Storm Data (SD) monthly publications contains a chronological listing, by states, of storm occurrences and unusual weather phenomena. Reports contain information on storm paths, deaths, injuries, and property damage. An "Outstanding storms of the month" section highlights severe weather events with photographs, illustrations, and narratives.
The NOAA Central Library is to support and further NOAA’s mission of promoting global environmental stewardship in order to conserve and wisely manage the Nation's marine and coastal resources; and describing, monitoring, and predicting changes in the Earth's environment in order to ensure and enhance sustainable economic opportunities.