Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Services: Recent Research

Hawksbill Turtle (Eretmochelys imbricate) 2013-2020

This bibliography focuses on any relevant hawksbill sea turtle literature (peer-reviewed, technical reports, memos, Regional Fisheries Management Council reports, biological opinions) since 2013. It is intended as a reference resource for ESA staff of the NOAA Fisheries Office of Protected Resources and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service when compiling and summarizing any relevant new (i.e. 2013-present) information for this marine turtle. It is organized into four sections: Biology (life history), Ecology (interaction with the environment), Population Abundance and Trends, and Threats.

The Effects of Ultraviolet Filters and Sunscreen on Corals and Aquatic Ecosystems

The NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program (CRCP) is in the process of evaluating research pertaining to coral reef health, especially as concerned with ultraviolet (UV) filters in sunscreen. To that end, the NOAA Central Library reviewed and reorganized an existing EndNote library on the topic that was compiled by Cheryl Woodley of the CRCP. The NOAA Central Library also conducted a literature search to identify any material that might be missing from the EndNote library. This bibliography is the result of the Library’s reorganization and literature search from the original EndNote library.

Verification Metrics for National Center for Environmental Prediction (NCEP) Models

The National Weather Service (NWS) has created multiple Numerical Weather Prediction (NWP) models. The purpose of an NWP model can be inferred from various measurable qualities. The goal of this bibliography is to explore how seven NWP models are assessed for quality and performance. It is organized into eight sections; seven sections are dedicated to the evaluation of a specific NWS weather model, the eighth section explores the use of Observing System Experiment (OSE) & Observing System Simulation Experiments.

Ship-based Marine Plastic Litter

Recognizing the need to do more inthe area of ship-based marine plastic litter, the International Maritime Organization’s Marine Protection Committee (MEPC) adopted an action plan to enhance existing regulations in support of reducing marine plastic litter from ships in October of 2018. This bibliography was developed in support of the NOAAs work on this action plan. While there is an abundance of literature on plastics in the marine environment, this bibliography isfocused on ship-based litter. Due to the nature of the issue and the evolution in regulations, technology, and management, there was no limitations set on publication date.

Socioeconomic Aspects in Stock Assessments

The goal of this bibliography was to locate sources that considered or incorporated socioeconomic information in fisheries stock assessments worldwide. This includes all aspects of the stock assessment process such as data collection, data processing, incorporation into stock assessment models, projected population dynamics, and integration in management plans. Sources from this bibliography will be used to write a literature review on the topic of socioeconomic factors in fisheries stock assessments

Request full-text libraries

EndNote libraries available on this page do not contain full-text PDFs. If you are a NOAA employee and would like to request a full-text copy, please contact library.reference@noaa.gov