Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NOAA Library Network: Home

OAR:
NOS:
NESDIS:
NMFS:

NOAA Library Network

This directory provides detailed contact and other information about each of the NOAA Libraries. Click on the link in the map above to link to a library's home page --- or scroll through the more detailed information by state, below. The NOAA Central Library in Silver Spring serves any NOAA staff without a local library; contact us at Library.Reference@noaa.gov for more information.

Locations

California

La Jolla

Library: La Jolla Laboratory Library
Address: NMFS/SW Fisheries Science Center 
8901 La Jolla Shores Drive 
La Jolla, CA 92037
Telephone: 858-546-7038
Fax: 858-546-7003
Email: Debra.Losey@noaa.gov
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday
Personnel: Debra A. Losey
OCLC Symbol: OAI
Library Home Page: https://www.fisheries.noaa.gov/west-coast/outreach-and-education/libraries-southwest-fisheries-science-center
Lab Home Page: https://www.fisheries.noaa.gov/about/southwest-fisheries-science-center

About the library: The collection includes journals, books, microfiche, and newspapers on fish and fisheries. The library specializes in fish biology, fisheries, primarily  tuna and Pacific fisheries, marine mammals, marine biology and ecology, Antarctica, tuna-dolphin interactions, oceanography, and fishery management. The library provides reference service and interlibrary loans.

Santa Cruz

Library: SWFSC Santa Cruz Library
Address: National Marine Fisheries Service
SWFSC Fisheries Ecology Division
110 McAllister Way 
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Telephone: 831-420-3962
Email: Kit.Johnston@noaa.gov
Hours: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Monday - Friday
Personnel: Kit Johnston, Librarian
OCLC Symbol: OAT
Library Home Page: https://www.fisheries.noaa.gov/west-coast/outreach-and-education/libraries-southwest-fisheries-science-center
Lab Home Page: https://www.fisheries.noaa.gov/about/fisheries-ecology-division-southwest-fisheries-science-center

About the library: The collection focuses on the groundfish and salmonids of California's offshore and inland waters, covering fisheries, ecology, biology and habitat.

Colorado

Boulder

Library: Department of Commerce Boulder Laboratories Library
Address: 325 Broadway MC5
Boulder, CO 80305
Telephone: 303-497-3271
Email: BoulderLabs.Ref@noaa.gov
BoulderLabs.ILL@noaa.gov
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday with after hours access for DoC employees
Personnel: Stacy Bruss, Director and staff
OCLC Symbol: CON
Lab Home Page: https://www.boulder.doc.gov/ 

About the library: The library supports research of the NOAA, NIST and NTIA Boulder Labs. The collection includes the following subject areas: atmospheric sciences, chemistry, physics, materials science, telecommunications, computer science, plasma and space physics, and mathematics. The technical report collection contains complete holdings for reports generated at the Boulder Laboratories since 1954.

Florida

Miami

Library: NOAA Miami Regional Library @ AOML (A Branch of the NOAA Central Library)
Address: Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Lab
4301 Rickenbacker Causeway 
Miami, FL 33149
Telephone: 305-361-4428 (general services and reference)
Fax: 305-361-4448
Email: Gloria.Aversano@noaa.gov
Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday – Friday
Personnel: Gloria Aversano
OCLC Symbol: OAO
Lab Home Page: http://www.aoml.noaa.gov

About the library: The library supports coastal and open ocean programs, tropical and hurricane meteorology, air-sea interaction, ocean physics, chemistry, acoustics, atmospheric chemistry, and marine geology. Special collections include: NOAA Laboratories Technical Report Series for atmospheric sciences, the Harris B. Stewart Collected Papers, foreign and Caribbean meteorological reports, handwritten local weather records, WHOI technical reports and dissertations, film loops of weather, and historical weather data of Key West and Miami.

 

Library: NMFS/SE Fisheries Science Center Library
Address: 75 Virginia Beach Drive
Miami, FL 33149-1099
Telephone: 305-361-4229
Fax: 305-361-4499
Email: Maria.Bello@noaa.gov
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
Personnel: Maria Bello
OCLC Symbol: OAJ
Ariel no.: 199.242.232.10
Lab Home Page: http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov

About the library: The collection includes books, journals, and reprints on marine fisheries, marine biology, endangered species, fisheries stock assessments, ecology, and cooperative gamefish and billfish tagging programs.

Panama City

Library: NMFS Panama City Laboratory Library
Address: 3500 Delwood Beach Road 
Panama City, FL 32408
Telephone: 850-234-6541 ext 227
Fax: 850-235-3559
Email: Maria.Bello@noaa.gov
Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m., Monday - Friday
Personnel: Maria Bello
OCLC Symbol: FD6
Lab Home Page: http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/labs/panamacity.htm

About the library: The collection includes books, serials, reprints, a slide collection, and vertical files on fisheries. The library produces serials holdings list and a staff publications list, available online.

Hawaii

Honolulu

Library: Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center Library
Address: NOAA IRC
NMFS/PIFSC/SOD/LIBRARY
1845 Wasp Blvd., Bldg. 176
Honolulu, HI 96818
Telephone: 808-725-5307
Email:  kaitlen.mcpherson@noaa.gov
Pifsc.Librarian@noaa.gov
Hours: Library is open 6 a.m. - 6 p.m., Monday-Friday HST
Librarian is available from 7 a.m. - 3:30 p.m, Monday-Friday HST
Personnel: Kaitlen Mcpherson
OCLC Symbol: OAF
Lab Home Page: https://origin-apps-pifsc.fisheries.noaa.gov/library/
Library Internal Page: https://sites.google.com/noaa.gov/pifsc-library/home

About the library: The collection includes books, journals, maps, and reprints, and approximately 800 translations related to the following topics of the Pacific region: marine fisheries, marine ecology, oceanography, marine mammals, marine turtles, and ichthyology.

Maryland

College Park

Library: Betty Petersen Memorial Library
Address: Room 1650, E / OC4 
5830 University Research Court 
College Park, MD 20740
Telephone: 301-683-1307
Fax: 301-683-1308
Email:  jan.thomas@noaa.gov
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday - Friday
Personnel: Jan Thomas
OCLC Symbol: OLS
Lab Home Page: https://www.weather.gov/ncep/
http://www.star.nesdis.noaa.gov/star/
https://www.arl.noaa.gov/

About the library: The library contains a specialized meteorological and oceanographic collection of about 7,000 volumes. A small number of those volumes cover physics, mathematics, historical weather information, and computer support. In addition, the library has atlases, a collection of WMO publications, NOAA/NESDIS technical notes and technical reports, NWS/NCEP technical notes and reports, and weather or ocean related publications from other government organizations, from other countries, and from universities.

Oxford

Library: Oxford Marine Library
Address: Cooperative Oxford Laboratory 
NOAA/NOS/CCEHBR 
904 South Morris Street 
Oxford, MD 21654-1323
Telephone: 443-258-6080
Fax: 410-226-5925
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
Personnel: Shawn McLaughlin, Karen Hayman
Ariel no.: 140.90.118.205
Lab Home Page: https://coastalscience.noaa.gov/about/centers/col

About the library: The Cooperative Oxford Laboratory Library is a part of the National Ocean Service's Center for Coastal Environmental Health and Biomolecular Research Charleston Laboratory. It is a highly specialized library established to assist laboratory biologists in their research on diseases of marine fish and shellfish. The library is in a facility shared by the National Ocean Service and the Maryland Department of Natural Resources. Much of the library collection is made up of current subscriptions to approximately 45 scientific journals in the fields of pathobiology, fisheries, habitat, nature conservation, and ecology. The library maintains a collection of reprints, newsletters, technical and information bulletins, maps, photographs, newspaper clippings and a dissertation and thesis collection.. The serial and monographic collections total over 13,500 volumes, and there are over 25,000 reprints in the reprint collection.

Silver Spring

Library: NOAA Central Library
Address: 1315 East-West Highway 
2nd Floor, SSMC3 
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Telephone: 301-713-2600 ext. 157 (reference and information desk)
Email: Library.Reference@noaa.gov
Interlibrary.Loan@noaa.gov
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
Personnel: Deirdre Clarkin, Library Director, and staff
OCLC Symbol: OLA
Ariel No.: 140.99.133.17

About the library: The collection contains books, historical and current journals, hard-copy technical reports, reports on microfiche and microfilm, and audio cassettes. The library also provides access to digital media in both tangible (CDs, DVDs, etc.) and intangible formats (Internet accessible). Because it is a central library for NOAA, a multi-faceted agency, the collection is also multi-faceted and contains works on meteorology, climatology, oceanography, marine chemistry, marine biology, marine fisheries, remote sensing, and ecology. The public may use the library and make copies, but may not remove the material from the library except on interlibrary loan basis.

Michigan

Ann Arbor

Library: Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory (GLERL) Library
Address: 4840 S. State Rd.
Ann Arbor MI 48108-9719
Telephone: 734-741-2210
Email: Margaret.Lansing@noaa.gov
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
Personnel: Margaret Lansing
OCLC Symbol: OAZ
Lab Home Page: http://www.glerl.noaa.gov

About the library: The collection supports the laboratory's broad ecosystem approach to research activities for both the Great Lakes and marine coastal environments. The current collection emphasizes freshwater studies, particularly in the Great Lakes. Formats include print, film, fiche, audio cassette, and CD-ROM. Current holdings include periodicals, books, technical reports, technical memoranda and dissertations. The public may access the collection for research purposes and may make copies, but materials are loaned through interlibrary loan.

Mississippi

Pascagoula

Library: Pascagoula Laboratory Library
Address: NMFS/SE Fisheries Science Center
P.O. Drawer 1207 
3209 Frederic Street 
Pascagoula, MS 39568-1207
Telephone: 228-549-1617
Fax: 228-769-9200
Email: Lagena.Fantroy@noaa.gov
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
Personnel: LaGena Fantroy
OCLC Symbol: OAM
Ariel No.: 155.206.127.31
Lab home page: http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pascagoula.htm

About the library: The library holds a specialized collection on National Seafood Safety, marine mammals, ichthyoplankton, fisheries, fishery gear (including TEDS and by-catch devices), as well as general marine biology and marine resources. The library is open to the public for reference only. The collection is non-circulating.

New Jersey

Princeton

Library: NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory Library
Address: Princeton University Forrestal Campus
201 Forrestal Road
Princeton, NJ 08540-6649
Telephone: 609-452-6550
609-452-5334
Fax: 609-987-5063
Email: Rochelle.Larose@noaa.gov
Hours:  8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Monday - Friday
Personnel:  Rochelle Larose
OCLC Symbol: OAY
Lab Home Page: http://www.gfdl.noaa.gov

About the library: The collection includes works on oceanography, ocean-atmosphere interaction, computer science, applied mathematics, hydrology, physics, geophysics, fluid dynamics, meteorology, atmospheric chemistry, paleoclimatology, cloud physics, monsoon and mesoscale meteorology, hurricane dynamics, climatology, climate change, numerical weather prediction, geochemistry, marine biology, and applied mechanics.

North Carolina

Asheville

Library: National Centers for Environmental Information Library
Address: Federal Building 
151 Patton Avenue 
Asheville, NC 28801-5001
Telephone: 828-271-4677
Fax: 828-271-4009
Email:

jacquelyn.crossman@noaa.gov

ncei.librarian@noaa.gov

Hours: 7:00 AM to 3:30 PM ET Tuesday through Friday
Personnel: Jacquelyn Crossman
OCLC Symbol: OAQ
Lab Home Page:

https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/

About the library: The virtual and physical library contains books, journals, articles, CD-ROMs, maps, atlases, NCEI corporate historical materials, NCEI's publications, models, microforms, and videos related to climate data. For climate data, please contact NCEI Customer Services, 828-271-4800, or visit the NCEI web page.

Oklahoma

Norman

Library: National Weather Center Library
Address: 120 David L. Boren Blvd., Suite 4300
Norman, OK 73072-7303
Telephone: 405-325-1072
Fax: 405-325-1130
Email: nwclibrary@ou.edu (general library email)
Hours: Monday through Thursday: 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday: Closed.
(Open Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. during school breaks)
OCLC Symbol: OKNWC
Lab Home Page: http://www.nssl.noaa.gov

About the library: The National Weather Center Library serves NOAA researchers and staff located in the National Weather Center, including the National Severe Storms Laboratory, Weather Forecast Office, Radar Operations Center, Storm Prediction Center and Warning Decision Training Branch. The Library also serves faculty, researchers, students and staff in the College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences at the University of Oklahoma, and its partners including the Oklahoma Climatological Survey, Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms, Center for Spatial Analysis and Cooperative Institute for Mesoscale Meteorological Studies. The collection includes books, monographs, journals, online resources, climatological data, technical memoranda, slides, videos and microforms.

Rhode Island

Narragansett

Library: National Sea Grant Library
Address: University of Rhode Island - Bay Campus 
Ocean Science and Exploration Center
15 Pier Road
Narragansett, RI 02882
Telephone: 401-874-6114
Email: nsgl@gso.uri.edu
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Monday-Friday
Personnel:  Cynthia Murray, Coordinator; Joyce Winn, Publications Coordinator

About the library: The National Sea Grant Library (NSGL) is the digital library and official archive for NOAA Sea Grant documents. It is the only comprehensive collection of Sea Grant–funded documents from over 30 programs and projects across the country. This collection encompasses a wide variety of subjects, including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, and law. The NSGL provides global access to over 17,000 full-text digital documents through the 47,000–record, searchable publications database. For those documents that aren't available electronically (including videos and DVDs), or for those patrons without high-speed internet access, the NSGL will be happy to provide hardcopy loans (worldwide) to aid scientists, teachers, students, fishermen, and others in their research and studies.

South Carolina

Charleston

Library: NOAA/NOS/Center for Coastal Environmental Health and Biomolecular Research (CCEHBR)
Mailing Address: c/o Marine Resources Library 
P.O. Box 12559 
Charleston, SC 29422-2559
Street Address: 217 Fort Johnson Road, Building 8 
Charleston, SC 29412
Telephone: 843-953-9370 (Geoffrey Timms, Librarian)
843-953-9370 (Martha Stackel, Head of Cataloguing) 
843-953-9373 (Sarah Houston, Interlibrary Loan Borrowing, Cataloging) 
843-953-9372 (Maggie Applegate, Interlibrary Loan Lending, Serials)
Fax: 843-953-9371
Email: mrlcirc@cofc.edu
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday
Personnel: Geoffrey Timms, Martha Stackel, Maggie Applegate, Sarah Houston
OCLC Symbol: OAS
Ariel No.: 153.9.101.13 (Charleston)
Odyssey: 153.9.241.50

About the library: The CCEHBR conducts interdisciplinary research to resolve issues related to coastal ecosystems health and environmental quality, including public health impacts. Some of the high-priority items addressed include harmful algal blooms and their consequences, characterization of marine mammal health, land use impacts on coastal ecology, forensics and genetic applications to support marine wildlife laws, diagnosis and mitigation of fish, oyster, and shrimp diseases. The Marine Resources Library is funded by and supports the College of Charleston, the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources Marine Resources Division, and the NOAA Charleston CCEHBR Center. The collection emphasizes marine biology, marine ecology, fisheries science, ichthyology, invertebrate zoology, toxicology, marine forensics, biotechnology, ecotoxicology, phycology, and biochemistry.

Washington

Seattle

Library: NOAA Seattle Regional Library
Address: E/OC43, Building 3 
7600 Sand Point Way NE 
Seattle, WA 98115
Telephone: 206-526-6241
Fax: 206-526-4535
Email: Brian.Voss@noaa.gov 
Seattle.Library@noaa.gov
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday
Personnel: Brian Voss
OCLC Symbol: OAE
Lab Home Page: http://www.wrc.noaa.gov/

About the library: The library supports research in the areas of meteorology, physical and chemical oceanography, geochemistry, atmospheric physics, ocean engineering, mathematics, statistics, and computer science. Special collections in the library include the Rudolph Preisendorfer Memorial Collection, an 800-volume library of classic works in mathematics and statistics; holdings on Puget Sound; a complete collection of monographs from the National Science Foundation Israel Program for Scientific Translations; and nautical, hydrographic, and topographic charts and maps.

 

Library: National Marine Mammal Laboratory Library
Address: NMFS Alaska Fisheries Science Center 
7600 Sand Point Way NE, Building 4 
Seattle, WA 98115-6349
Telephone: 206-526-4013
Fax: 206-526-6615
Email: Sonja.Kromann@noaa.gov 
nmml.library@noaa.gov
Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Monday-Friday
Personnel: Sonja Kromann
OCLC Symbol: M@M
Lab Home Page: http://www.afsc.noaa.gov/nmml/

About the library: The library has a unique collection of marine mammal literature. The collection includes over 15,000 volumes of books, journals, and theses, as well as an extensive reprint file. Subject coverage includes biology, zoology, diseases, conservation, fisheries, ecosystem management, population dynamics, ecological modeling, statistics, whaling, sealing and international and domestic legislation and treaties that impact marine mammals. The NMML Library also contains archives of northern fur seal research, International Whaling Commission documents, and International North Pacific Fisheries Commission documents.