Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Access: Guide for NOAA Staff and Contractors

Welcome to NOAA Central Library's guide to accessing library resources while working remote! We are proud to offer NOAA an array of agency-wide resources.  

Most NOAA Library online resources are IP authenticated. Online resources are available via a NOAA provided VPN while working remotely or in a NOAA office or lab. This guide should help answer any questions you have on accessing our resources remotely. 

If you currently do not have access to a NOAA-provided VPN service, email for assistance in accessing materials at: library.reference@noaa.gov or interlibrary.loan@noaa.gov. In your email, please also note that you do not have VPN access.

How do I report access issues?

key graphic

Access Issues

Access to online journals and databases is through IP addresses, so if you are working remotely and using a NOAA VPN or are in a NOAA office or lab you should be able to view and download articles you have access to as verified by the NOAA catalog, Primo VE

If you are having any issues accessing our resources, we want to work with you to restore access. The best way to request assistance is to fill out the Report Access Issue form.

Accessing Journal Articles, Databases, and Interlibrary Loan

magnifying glass icon

Journal Finder and Database List

Wondering if you have access to your favorite journal? Our NOAA-Wide Journal Finder will let you know. The listing for each journal lists the date range in our holdings and the database where you can find it. See also our comprehensive list of A-Z Databases

Some of our databases allow access via login, so that articles may be viewed and downloaded when not on the NOAA network. For questions on account how to create a login, contact library.reference@noaa.gov

*Contact the library to request an account

Example: E&E News

Sign up for their daily emails using the following steps: 

  1. Navigate to: https://www.eenews.net/get-access/

  2. Scroll down to fill out their form 

  3. Use the “How can we help you?” dropdown to select ‘Join My Organization's Account’

  4. Complete the required fields and submit

  5. Look for an email confirming your account creation

  6. Once logged in, adjust your account settings and select the emails you would like sent to your inbox.

NOAA Institutional Repository (IR)

NOAA Institutional Repository logo

Find and Use NOAA Research

The NOAA Institutional Repository is a digital library of scientific literature and research produced by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. The repository contains NOAA publications, as defined in the NOAA Publications Policy, dating from NOAA’s formation in 1970 to present and NOAA-authored and -funded journal articles from 2015 forward.

Additionally, we have office hours every Tuesday from 2-3:30pm Eastern on Google Meet. Join us: 

NOAA IR, Publishing & Section 508 "Office Hours"
Tuesday, November 2 · 2:00 – 3:30pm
Google Meet joining info
Video call link: https://meet.google.com/yta-ijoj-knx
Or dial: ‪(US) +1 646-883-9716‬ PIN: ‪832 333 185‬#
More phone numbers: https://tel.meet/yta-ijoj-knx?pin=6059580097979

Training

Looking for training on a particular database, software or tool? The Library offers one-on-one sessions on EndNote, all supported databases, research formulation, and more! Check out our training guide: https://libguides.library.noaa.gov/training

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Graphic of journal article

Do you need a journal article or book chapter?

If you are NOAA staff or a contractor on the Silver Spring campus, the NOAA Central Library will handle your interlibrary loan (ILL) requests. If you are NOAA staff or contractor outside of Silver Spring, you can get ILL through your local NOAA library. If you aren't served by another NOAA library, the NOAA Central Library will do ILL for you.

Submitting Requests

You can submit ILL requests in one of two ways: email interlibrary.loan@noaa.gov or fill out our online form.

We ask that your request include the most complete citation information you can find for the item wanted, plus your name, contact information, and NOAA line office. If you need the item by a certain date, please include that as well.

More information on ILL at NOAA

Ask a librarian graphic

Questions & Comments

We love to hear from you. For any non-access issue questions and comments, please email us at library.reference@noaa.gov