Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma / Primo Migration & Training Guide

Bibliographic Cataloging Workflows


The following page provides guidelines for NOAA's Library Network cataloging workflows for bibliographic records. 

At the time of Go-Live there are two workflows for importing bibliographic records from OCLC Connexion Client/Record Manager into Alma:

  • Import Profile 
  • Integration Profile 

OCLC Connexion Browser is not available in Connexion browser. Do not use Connexion browser for importing records into Alma. See OCLC documentation.

Import Profile


Alma provides multiple types of Import Profiles for importing various types of bibliographic data into Alma. For NOAA's current needs, the Import Profiles that are configured are of the Repository type Import Profile.

The Repository Import Profile allows for the import of bibliographic records from OCLC Connexion Client. In addition, it used to import bibliographic records and create physical/electronic inventory.

If you do not have an Connexion Export Profile setup, which allows you to export Bibliographic records with associated physical items or electronic portfolios, you will need to configure this in Connexion. To configure an export profile, view "Configuring OCLC Connexion Export (for Import Profile)" on this page.

Importing bibliographic records with Inventory


The following Import Profile reflect longtime cataloging import workflows of import bibliographic records along item records from an OCLC Connexion. In Alma, however, along with items, inventory now also has to be created as part of the import process as well.

For information on importing records without inventory or items, view How do I import bibliographic records without import via Import Profile?

Creating Inventory and items


Alma determines whether a bibliographic record's Inventory Type is physical or electronic based what is entered in the Resource type field, which NOAA as designated as 901 a. 

A bibliographic record can only have one type of inventory. If you have a record with two types of inventory (physical and electronic), two separate records will have to be created.

To create Inventory in a bibliographic record:

  1. While cataloging a record in OCLC Connexion, create a new field and enter the following information:
    • Enter 901, subfield a
    • If item if physical enter P
    • If item is electronic enter E

To create items in a bibliographic records:

  • More than one physical item or electronic portfolio can be created for a bibliographic record. However, only catalog physical or electronic portfolios together. Do not catalog a mixture of physical or electronic portfolios on a single bibliographic record. 
  1. For physical items, while cataloging in OCLC Connexion, create a new field and enter the following information:
    • For each item enter 949, then,
      • subfield a for item call number (required)
      • subfield c for item copy number (required)
      • subfield i for item barcode (Alma will auto-generate one if not supplied)
      • subfield l for location (STACKS is the default physical location in all Import Profiles) (required for holdings records)
        • View Alma's other physical location codes here
      • subfield v for volume information  
  2. For electronic portfolios, while cataloging in OCLC Connexion, create a new field and enter the following information:
    • For each electronic portfolio enter 856, then,
      • subfield u for Uniform Resource Locator (required)
      • subfield z for Public Note. (Available online is the default)

Import Profile Process


To import bibliographic records from OCLC Connexion into Alma via the Import Profile:

  1. On the Import Profiles menu (Resources > Import > Import), select the import profile specific to your library.
  2. Once selected, click the Run option in the ellipsis, located on the right side of the Import Profile.
    • Clicking on Run will open the Start New Import Menu.
  3. In the Start New Import menu, click on the Select New File Link. 
  4. In the prompt, enter:
    1. File: select the path to OCLC import file. 
    2. Label: enter basic metadata referring to your imported file, such as import filename.
    3. Notes: information you may find helpful about file you imported. 
  5. Click on Add once file is upload and fields have been completed. This will close the prompt.
  6. Click on Submit button.
    • Submitting the import file will begin the import process, opening the Monitor and View Imports menu where you can view the progress of the import file. The amount of time this process will take depends on how many files have been imported.
  7. Once the import process is complete, click on the ellipsis and select Report. 
    • This will open the Job Report menu, providing information whether the import was successful or not.
  8. This will open the All Titles menu and display all bib record(s) that were imported successfully.

Importing bibliographic records without Inventory


The following Import Profile reflect longtime cataloging workflows of importing only bibliographic records from OCLC Connexion in order to update an existing record, not affecting local holdings in the process.

Import Profile Process


To import bibliographic records from OCLC Connexion into Alma via the Import Profile:

  1. On the Import Profiles menu (Resources > Import > Import), select the import profile specific to your library.
  2. Once selected, click the Run option in the ellipsis, located on the right side of the Import Profile.
    • Clicking on Run will open the Start New Import Menu.
  3. In the Start New Import menu, click on the Select New File Link. 
  4. In the prompt, enter:
    1. File: select the path to OCLC import file. 
    2. Label: enter basic metadata referring to your imported file, such as import filename
    3. Notes: information you may find helpful about file you imported. 
  5. Click on Add once file is upload and fields have been completed. This will close the prompt.
  6. Click on Submit button.
    • Submitting the import file will begin the import process, opening the Monitor and View Imports menu where you can view the progress of the import file. The amount of time this process will take depends on how many files have been imported.
  7. Once the import process is complete, click on the ellipsis and select Report. 
    • This will open the Job Report menu, providing information whether the import was successful or not.
  8. This will open the All Titles menu and display all bib record(s) that were imported successfully.

Configuring OCLC Connexion Export (for Import Profile)


 

How to configure OCLC Connexion File Destination Path


  1. Navigate to Tools > Options.
  2. Click the Export Tab.
  3. Check if there is a File Destination Path option (it may have a name such as (File: Prompt for filename or a specific file path)).
  4. If there is highlight it and click Apply in the Options Menu (You are working in it).

If you do not see a File Destination Path:

  1. In the Select an Export Destination area, click Create.
  2. A new window will appear, prompting you to select a New Export Destination destination type.
  3. Select File from the options.
  4.  Connexion automatically selects the Program folder in the C Drive as default to exporting records.
    1. You can select another folder to export records if you choose choose the default option.
    2. If you want to be prompted for a filename and file path each time you first perform an export after you open Connexion, do NOT enter a filename or file path when Connexion prompts you. Just hit cancel  Note that you will only receive this prompt the first time you export a record during a session when you have Connexion open. After the first time you export a record you will not receive this message. 
  5. To import records in the correct encoding, the character set should be set to UTF-8 Unicode for bibliographic records. To define the character set, select Tools > Options > Export > Record Characteristics.  
    1. In the Record Characteristics prompt, in the Bibliographic Records section in the Character Set dropdown, select UTF-8 Unicode. 
  6. Finally, click Apply at the bottom of the Options menu.

 

How to export OCLC records for Alma (Import Profile)


To export an OCLC record to Alma:

  1. When ready to export a record from OCLC Connexion, locate the record you wish to export and open it (if it is not already open). 
  2. Select the ActionExport button in Connexion
  3. If you have a specific file path set up in your file destination path, your file will be exported to that location. If you chosen to be prompted for a filename and file path each time you first perform an export after you open Connexion, Windows File Explorer will open and require you enter a filename the first time you export a record during your session.