Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma / Primo Migration & Training Guide

Physical location codes and names


The table below details the physical location codes and names used in NOAA's Alma instance. Location codes are of particular use when importing cataloged bibliographic records into Alma from Connexion. 

Location Code Location Name Description Note
ARCHIVE Archives    
ATLAS Atlases    
AV Audio-visual Collection    
CLIMATE Climate Room   NOAA Central Library only
DIGITIZING Digitizing Materials to be digitized  
GOV-DOC Government Documents    
IATTC IATTIC Collection a La Jolla Library   La Jolla Library only
JOURNAL  Journals    
MAP Maps Maps collection  
MEDIA Media Media of all types  
MICROFORM Microforms    
OVERSIZE Oversize Oversize shelves  
RARE-BOOK Rare Book Rare books and special collection materials  
RECORDS Records    
REFDESK Reference Reference desk  
REFERENCE Reference Reference material  
SPECIAL Special Special Collection  
STACKS Stacks    
TECHSERV Tech Services Permanently held in tech services  
THESES Theses Theses Collection  
INTERNET Online resources   Location is not used in Alma. Online resources are added to Bibliographic records via electronic portfolios.
ILL Borrowed from ILL via Silver Spring   Silver Spring only. Suppressed from Discovery. Strictly associated with temporarily physical ILL items.